Weekend of Dec. 28th – Last Post

Before we look at the service changes for the last weekend of 2019 and of the 2010s, I must announce this will be my last post here. While the MTA still hasn’t embraced a way to show weekend or late night service changes in a visual form, many third-party apps now exist that provide the same service. Plus, my free time has been growing ever limited over the past few months, making it more difficult to put these maps out weekly. It’s been a privilege to help guide riders around the myriad of service changes over past five or so years.

With that out of the way, here are this weekend’s service changes. Electrical improvement work will suspend all service on the Lenox Ave line. Track maintenance work will cut the Flushing line back to Queensboro Plaza and ongoing signal modernization projects will force all Queens Blvd service onto the local tracks again.

  • 2 – No service between 96 Street and 241 Street
  • 3 – No weekend service
  • 4 – Reduced service between Burnside Av and Woodlawn
  • 5 – Split service at E 180 Street
  • 7 – No service between Queensboro Plaza and 34 St-Hudson Yards
  • E F – All service is local-only in Queens
  • Q – No service between 57 St-7 Av and 96 Street

Service Map

Have a good weekend and a happy new year.

18 thoughts on “Weekend of Dec. 28th – Last Post

  1. I appreciate all of the work you’ve put in to these maps the past few years. They have been such a great help, and I can’t thank you enough for all of the hours you have spent helping me and others with your posts. Wishing you all the best in the future.

  2. Thank you so much; you’ve repeatedly been a life saver. I don’t, however, know of any apps that provide a similar service: could someone recommend some for Android?

    • The @transitapp has someone who manually reroutes lines in NYC. For ex, if the (N)(Q) train is routed southbound via the (R) line, it will show the (N)(Q) trains at stations between Canal and Dekalb via the (R) line. It’s not a perfect system, as certain types of reroutes they cannot implement; such as split service operation with a train going extra stations, for example when the (6) truncates at the (4) Grand Concourse station originating from Brooklyn Br, but also has a segment that goes from Pelham Bay to 125 St, due to the overlap. But it works pretty well imo.

  3. Pingback: The "Rudest City? You'll See How Rude This City Can Get" Edition

  4. I’d like to also give my thanks, Lance; while I’m not in NYC as much as I used to be several years ago, I’ve used your maps to quickly get the feel of the subway system on the few weekends I do manage to come back home. A happy New Year to you.

  5. Thank you for your work! Even when I wasn’t planning to take the subway that particular weekend, I would often check out your maps because they were just a fun way to see what the MTA was up to.

  6. Thank you for all of your hard work all these years, you will be sorely, sorely missed. On behalf of all New Yorkers, I thank you for your tireless and entirely selfless service. May the wind always be at your sails, and good luck in all your future endeavors!

Leave a comment